What better time to gripe about the Catholic Church than the Easter Season

I was born and raised Catholic. I went to a Catholic grade school, a Catholic high school, and I’m at a Catholic university right now.  Thus, it’s become pretty hard for me to understand why I find myself parting ways with the Church on so many levels.

Perhaps it’s for reasons such as the Pope’s addition of Seven (new) Deadly Sins to the previous seven: abortion, social injustice, pollution, selling drugs, contraception, genetic engineering, and being obscenely wealthy.

Looking at the Church’s view of the fetus, abortion is not so far-fetched, but with the Church’s unflinching stance on “respecting life from birth until NATURAL DEATH”, why is the death penalty not on the list?
Social injustice seems ridiculously broad, but I won’t argue that…for now
Pollution though… As any of my regular readers will know,  I love the environment, and I think it’s important to care for it; however we can’t expect to  stop pollution on a dime (Does that make sense?). In order to find alternatives to pollution, we have to pollute. Research requires the burning of fossil fuels and natural gases, sorry. Helping Third World countries by flying food out to them (in order to prevent social injustice, mind you) requires that we pollute.
I don’t really have anything against the addition of selling drugs to the list. It ruins lives, but why isn’t using drugs, then on the list?
Contraception is an interesting addition to the Seven Deadly Sins. I feel like the Church might as well add premarital sex to the list, seeing as the majority of contraception products are used by non-married couples. However, adding contraception to the list seems to hammer home the Church’s already heavy-handed stance that once a married couple is done having children, sex too must cease. I see so many problems with this logic. We are animals, as much as the Church wants to deny it. Surely, if a husband or wife decides to follow Catholic upbringings and tell the significant other that they refuse to have sex ever again, couldn’t this encourage the husband or wife to have an extramarital affair? Wouldn’t continuing to have sex as a married couple only foster the love and intimacy marriage is meant to promote?
Genetic Engineering is a sticky subject. While the science is taking some actions that screw with nature, it is also searching for quicker methods to manufacture insulin for men and women with diabetes. It is helping scientists do more expansive research to study and cure cancer. We cannot make a sweeping statement and say that genetic engineering is all bad.
And finally… being obscenely wealthy too is now a deadly sin. Isn’t it possible to be obscenely wealthy and still be a good person? Donate to charity? Go to church? Love your family and others? Guilting people out of being obscenely wealthy is only going to serve to derail capitalism and turn us into a Communist State…. something else the Church is strongly against.

As confessions are on the decline, many speculate that the Church created these new sins to help up the number of confessions. However, one must wonder why the Pope hasn’t added “child molestation” to the list of sins. Perhaps because it targets too many of its own in ways that these other sins absolutely cannot?

You are absolved of your sins.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “What better time to gripe about the Catholic Church than the Easter Season”

  1. amberfireinus Says:

    I have to laugh my head off at the last sin. The Catholic Church is one of the Richest organizations on earth…. so give me a break! Ever been to St. Peters Bascillica? Its enough to make you want to vomit with all of the gold everywhere. What a hypocrite! Tell you what, lets start by the church selling its works of art and excess gold to feed the poor, heal the sick and house the homeless. Then we’ll talk ok? Lets sell some of the massive amounts of excess land that they own.

    Lets look at church doctorine…. Lets look at why the origins of birth control being a sin is… and why priests aren’t allowed to marry really is. I think you’ll find the answers shocking.

    I could go on for hours about Catholic history. I could tell you things about the truth about Catholic dogma that would make your head spin. Celebacy, and the whys. I have been to St. Catherines in Egypt. I have seen the first monestaries with my own eyes. I have read the history… its plain disgusting how the church has twisted the bible for its own gains and wealth and power.

    A woman who is bright and thinking like yourself… its no wonder that you have questions. It was the Catholic Church who used to deem it a sin for a woman to die in childbirth. She was not allowed to be burried in holy ground. She had to be buried outside the cemetary in shame.

    Anyway…. I should stop the rant. There are good in all religions. They are simply vehicles to God. There are many wonderful Catholic people. My family are Catholics. Unfortunately…. sin comes in man’s lust for power too!

  2. Jason Says:

    There is no one right religion that would pass the Jesus test of perfection. Church, as with society will evolve and with that new sins will emerge. We can no more blame the church for its practices than ourselves. When life continues on, we can expect the church and all who run it(namely man) to solider on and do the same. God’s expectations has not changed, but mans interpretation has and will continue to do so.

  3. throughpaulseyes Says:

    The Church is by no means perfect, and your reasons and my own caused me to leave the Church. I’m not sure if you’ve met my mother, but when I told her I’m not Catholic, she responded, you are if you’re my son. Kind of shocking, but we’ll see what goes on with that. Anyways, the Church is 50 years in the past, but a lot of that is because there are a lot more people who would be mad if they modernized than if they stayed the way they are now.

    If by some chance I became pope? I’d bring back the papal armies and rebadassify the Jesuits, reunite the world under Catholicism, and bring the Church back as a voice of change.

  4. 06jk Says:

    Well, the Church bothers me quite often, but I’ve come to the realization that I still believe in the loving creator God. I believe in Jesus as the Messiah, and although I don’t take the Bible literally, I believe in its messages and a significant number of events that it recalls.

    I will, however, continue my critique of the Church. ;-)

  5. 06jk Says:

    P.S. Hahahahaha
    I will vote for you as Pope some day…

  6. amberfireinus Says:

    Pope = celebate…. I would change the rules if I were you!

  7. SanityFound Says:

    Lol to amberfireinus – having being practically married to a devout catholic family I am with all of you all the way, can’t say more than you already have for I couldn’t have said it better! Now off to read the rest of your posts!

  8. 06jk Says:

    Hahaha thanks Sanity.

  9. amberfireinus Says:

    Jak – You are needed on my blog…. your Catholic-ness is needed… please come and comment as soon as you can!!

    http://amberfireinus.wordpress.com/2008/04/09/pope-aims-to-heal-sex-abuse-wounds-on-us-trip/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

